Mark Stennes Award

Mark Stennes was passionate about arboriculture and sharing his experiences and knowledge with others. His disposition led him to volunteering and mentoring a variety of organizations and people. Mark was recognized for the hard work and contributions to the Minnesota Shade Tree Short Course. Mark’s broad knowledge of biology, specifically pathology, led him into a long career in support of elms. Mark recognized the value of elms in the upper Midwest where he discovered the St. Croix elm. To put it in Mark’s terms; the St. Croix elm is a tree that survived many “crown fires” (Dutch elm disease) in the St. Croix valley. Mark recognized the importance of this elm and with the help, support, and resources at the University of Minnesota the St. Croix elm is now available nationwide.

Although Mark was good with trees, that really wasn’t the pinnacle of his career. Mark had a rare talent to communicate his passion for trees to other people. Mark inspired many people to do more in the field of arboriculture and took pride in the successes of those people. He was truly a person you could count on and look up to. In recognition for Mark's leadership and passion for research, education, and support for those in the green industry, the Minnesota Shade Tree Short Course Steering Committee developed the Mark Stennes Award.

The Mark Stennes Award includes recognition at the Minnesota Shade Tree Short Course speaker’s dinner, free admission to the short course, and a plaque acknowledging the recipient's contribution to arboriculture, the green industry or urban forestry. If you would like to nominate someone for this award, please email [email protected] .


Mark Stennes by the St Croix elm

Past Award Recipients

  • 2023 - Gary Johnson, University of Minnesota
  • 2022 - Jennifer Juzwik, U.S. Forest Service
  • 2021 - Gordon Bailey, Bailey Nurseries
  • 2019 - Ralph Sievert, Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board
  • 2018 - Jim Vaughan, City of St Louis Park
  • 2017 - Craig Theidich
  • 2016 - John Elward, Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board
  • 2015 - Chad Giblin, University of Minnesota
  • 2014 - Craig Pinkalla, Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board